Louisiana - Jury Duty Employer Obligations
Louisiana - Jury Duty and Work | Employer Obligations
in Louisiana, your employer is not only required to give you leave for jury duty, but they are required to pay you your normal wages for all working hours spent at jury selection or jury duty. This is a rare guarantee, as most states only require that employees be provided with unpaid leave for serving on a jury.
Your employer can never punish you for missing work to attend jury duty. However, if missing work would cause your employer undue hardship, it may be considered as an acceptable jury duty excuse.
Any regular employee is entitled to one day full compensation for jury service.
They may not be required to use or lose any sick, vacation, or personal leave or other benefits.
You will receive a nominal jury duty payment from the State of Louisiana for each day you serve on a jury, as well as potential reimbursements for travel expenses. However, jury duty pay tends to be a token amount rather than actual compensation.
No employer shall discharge or subject to adverse action, any employee for complying with jury service because they received a summons, responded, served as a juror, or attended court.
You should be sure to show your employer your Louisiana jury duty summons letter when you receive it, and update them with your jury duty dates if you are assigned to a trial, to ensure that you receive your mandatory time off.
An employed will be required to reinstate discharged employee to the same position, wages, salary, benefits, and any other conditions.
The employer shall be fined between $100 to $1000 for each employee discharged.
Employer not granting leave shall be fined between $100 to $500 and must reimburse to the employee full day’s lost wages.
If you have been punished for missing work due to jury duty, contact the joror office of the court that summoned you, and they will assist in ensuring that your rights are protected.