Colorado Colorado - Jury Duty Employer Obligations

Colorado - Jury Duty and Work | Employer Obligations

| Does my employer have to give me leave for jury duty in Colorado?

in Colorado, your employer is not only required to give you leave for jury duty, but they are required to pay you your normal wages for all working hours spent at jury selection or jury duty. This is a rare guarantee, as most states only require that employees be provided with unpaid leave for serving on a jury.

Your employer can never punish you for missing work to attend jury duty. However, if missing work would cause your employer undue hardship, it may be considered as an acceptable jury duty excuse.

| Does my employer have to pay me for days I served on a jury in Colorado?

Regular employees are any full-time, part-time, temporary, and/or casual employees whose work hours have been set by a schedule, custom, or practice over the course of 3 months preceding the jury service summons date. All regular employees, as defined, shall be paid regular wages, not exceeding $50.00 per day, by their employer for the first 3 days of jury service; or other prior mutually agreed wages.

You will receive a nominal jury duty payment from the State of Colorado for each day you serve on a jury, as well as potential reimbursements for travel expenses. However, jury duty pay tends to be a token amount rather than actual compensation.

| Can I be disciplined or punished for missing work for jury duty in Colorado?

In Colorado, no employee may lose employment, benefits or wages; or be harassed, threatened, or coerced for performing any obligation of jury service. An employer cannot make demands that will interfere with the effective performance of the jury service.

Any employer not been excused, who fails to compensate an employed juror for their entitled paid leave, will be liable to compensate within thirty days.

You should be sure to show your employer your Colorado jury duty summons letter when you receive it, and update them with your jury duty dates if you are assigned to a trial, to ensure that you receive your mandatory time off.

| What happens if I am disciplined by my employer in Colorado?

Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of $250 to $1,000 or 3 to 12 months’ imprisonment, or both. May be liable to employee for triple damages, injunctive relief, and attorney's’ fees.

Failure to pay 3 day's wages may result in civil action on the part of the employee, in any court having jurisdiction over the parties. Extreme financial hardship on the part of the employer is not a defense to the civil action. Willful misconduct by the employer may result in the award of treble damages and reasonable attorney fees to the employee.

If you have been punished for missing work due to jury duty, contact the joror office of the court that summoned you, and they will assist in ensuring that your rights are protected.

** This Document Provided By JuryDuty101 **